Robusta

Coffea Canephora (Robusta)

Origin

The Robusta coffee variety originated in Central and West Africa. At the end of the 19th century, the discovery of Robusta in the Congo opened the way for coffee cultivation on lowland areas. The name Robusta is by no means a misnomer: The variety is stronger, more resistant to diseases and more productive. It was not until the beginning of the 20th century that colonial Robusta plantations really took off. The spread was halted by the Second World War and resumed after the wave of independence in Africa, supported by the new governments and with strong support from smallholders, especially in Cameroon and Côte d'Ivoire. Cultivation was not limited to Africa. Coffea Canephora was cultivated in northern Brazil and in Asia, especially in Indonesia, India, the Philippines and Vietnam. Vietnam is now the second largest coffee producer in the world. Robusta is the second most popular bean in the world after Arabica. Robusta accounts for about 40% of global coffee production.


Appearance

The Robusta bean is rather small, round or has a pole tip and has a straight cut.


Cultivation

Robusta prefers low altitudes, as well as hot and humid equatorial climates, where cocoa and bananas also grow. The main production zones are the plains of West Africa, Vietnam and Indonesia. Robusta is traditionally grown from cuttings because the plant is allogamous (cross-pollinated): the progeny of a given coffee tree from the seeds (beans) cross-pollinated with pollen are very heterogeneous and have to be reselected after breeding. After rooting the seedling, it is nurtured in the nursery for 6-8 weeks before moving to the nursery.
Robusta is grown in a similar way to Arabica, but Robusta is planted less densely (1 000 to 3 000 plants per hectare)

.

The main growing regions of Robusta are, sorted in descending order by production volume:


  1. Vietnam
  2. Brazil
  3. Indonesia
  4. India
  5. Ivory Coast
  6. Uganda
  7. Malaysia
  8. Thailand
  9. Cameroon
  10. Togo

Taste

High-quality Robusta beans have a special, acceptable and distinct flavour profile that is unique to these beans.
High-quality Robusta beans are not only suitable for espresso preparation, but also for filter methods. In addition, they are very popular for enriching the taste of milk drinks such as cappuccino, caffè latte and, of course, as a component of caffeine-rich espresso blends.


Robusta offers an earthy flavour, somewhat grainy, with tones of oak and pleasant bitterness. The aftertaste of Robusta is also often reminiscent of peanuts.
Just as with Arabica, the flavour profile is of course largely dependent on the roast, in addition to the region of origin.

Italian espresso roasts in particular round off their blends with high-quality Robusta beans.
This gives the espresso lover the taste profile typical of Italian espresso.

Cultivation

  • Lower altitudes (0-700m)
  • More resistant to disease, heat and humidity.
  • Slower ripening (10-11 months)

Climate

  • 20-30°C / Coffea Canephora thrives at high temperatures
  • .

Caffeine

  • 1,7 to 3,5%

Oil content

  • 10-12% / The lower oil content provides the thick, stable crema in Italian espresso blends
  • .

Sugar

  • 3-7% / The lower sugar content leads to a "hard" and bitter taste with an intensive, long finish.

Appearance

    Coffea Robusta
  • Small, roundish, straight cut

Taste

  • Strong taste with full body and distinct earthy notes.
  • Normally Robusta is more bitter than Arabica.

Our coffee recommendations!

The following espresso blends from our Italian roasters are perfect for exploring the world of high-quality robusta-heavy coffees. As you descend, the roast becomes darker and the proportion of Robusta higher.


© 2019 Beans Kaffeehandel OG. All Rights Reserved.

Robusta

Coffea Canephora (Robusta)

Ursprung

Die Kaffeeart Robusta hat Ihren Ursprung in Zentral- und West-Afrika. Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts eröffnete die Entdeckung von Robusta im Kongo den Weg für den Kaffeeanbau auf Flachlandgebieten. Der Name Robusta ist keineswegs falsch gewählt: Die Sorte ist kräftiger, widerstandsfähiger gegen Krankheiten und ertragreicher. Erst zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts wurden die kolonialen Robusta-Plantagen richtig in Schwung gebracht. Die Ausbreitung wurde durch den Zweiten Weltkrieg gestoppt und nach der Unabhängigkeitswelle in Afrika wieder aufgenommen, unterstützt von den neuen Regierungen und mit starker Unterstützung der Kleinbauern, insbesondere in Kamerun und der Elfenbeinküste. Der Anbau beschränkte sich nicht nur auf Afrika. Im Norden Brasiliens und in Asien, insbesondere in Indonesien, Indien, auf den Philippinen und in Vietnam wurde Coffea Canephora kultiviert. Vietnam ist heute der zweitgrößte Kaffeeproduzent der Welt. Robusta ist nach Arabica die zweitbeliebteste Bohnenart der Welt. Etwa 40% der weltweiten Kaffeeproduktion entfällt auf Robusta.


Erscheinungsbild

Die Robusta Bohne ist eher klein, rund bzw. hat eine Polspitze und besitzt einen geraden Schnitt.


Anbau

Robusta bevorzugt niedrige Höhenlagen, sowie heiße und feuchte äquatoriale Klimazonen, in denen auch Kakao und Bananen wachsen. Die Hauptproduktionszonen sind die Ebenen von Westafrika, Vietnam und Indonesien. Robusta wird traditionell aus Stecklingen gezogen, da die Pflanze allogam (fremdbestäubend) ist: Die Nachkommen eines bestimmten Kaffeebaums aus den Samen (Bohnen), der mit Pollen fremdbefruchtet wurde, sind sehr heterogen und müssen nach der Zucht neu selektioniert werden. Nach der Verwurzelung des Setzlings wird dieser für 6-8 Wochen in der Gärtnerei gepflegt, bevor er in die Baumschule übersiedelt.
Robusta wird ähnlich wie Arabica angebaut, allerdings wird Robusta weniger dicht gepflanzt (1 000 bis 3 000 Pflanzen pro Hektar).


Die Hauptanbaugebiete von Robusta sind, nach Produktionsmenge absteigend sortiert:


  1. Vietnam
  2. Brasilien
  3. Indonesien
  4. Indien
  5. Elfenbeinküste
  6. Uganda
  7. Malaysien
  8. Thailand
  9. Kamerun
  10. Togo

Geschmack

Hochwertige Robusta Bohnen haben ein besonderes, akzeptables und ausgeprägtes Geschmacksprofil, das für diese Bohnen einzigartig ist.
Hochwertige Robusta Bohnen sind nicht nur für die Espressozubereitung, sondern durchaus auch für Filtermethoden geeignet. Daneben sind sie zur geschmacklichen Anreicherung von Milchgetränken wie Cappuccino, Caffè Latte und natürlich als Bestandteil von koffeinreichen Espressomischungen sehr beliebt.


Robusta bietet einen erdigen Geschmack, etwas körnig, mit Tönen von Eiche und angenehmer Bitterkeit. Der Nachgeschmack der Robusta erinnert auch oft an Erdnüsse.
So wie bei Arabica hängt das Geschmacksprofil natürlich neben dem Herkunftsgebiet auch maßgeblich von der Röstung ab.

Vor allem die italienischen Espressoröstungen runden Ihre Mischungen mit hochwertigen Robusta Bohnen ab.
So erhält der Espressoliebhaber das für den italienischen Espresso typische Geschmacksprofil.

Anbau

  • Tiefere Lagen (0-700m)
  • Widerstandsfähiger gegen Krankheiten, Hitze und Feuchtigkeit.
  • Langsamere Reifung (10-11 Monate)

Klima

  • 20-30°C / Coffea Canephora gedeiht bei hohen Temperaturen

Koffein

  • 1,7 bis 3,5%

Ölgehalt

  • 10-12% / Der niedrigere Ölgehalt sorgt für die dicke, stabile Crema bei den Italienischen Espresso Blends

Zucker

  • 3-7% / Der niedrigere Zuckergehalt führt zu einem "harten" und bitteren Geschmack mit intensivem, langem Abgang.

Aussehen

    Coffea Robusta
  • Klein, rundlich, gerader Schnitt

Geschmack

  • Starker Geschmack mit vollem Körper und ausgeprägten erdigen Noten.
  • Üblicherweise ist Robusta bitterer als Arabica.

Unsere Kaffee-Empfehlungen!

Die folgenden Espressomischungen unserer italienischen Röster eignen sich hervorragend, um die Welt hochwertiger robustalastiger Kaffees zu erforschen. Absteigend wird die Röstung dunkler und der Anteil Robusta höher.


© 2019 Beans Kaffeehandel OG. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.